The 48th Hour

It feels like its been raining for 40 days and 40 nights !! It’s only really been 2 1/2-3 days, but the last 2 days have been NON-STOP steady rain. The weather unkindly sentenced me and the kitties to indoor activities, or the lack there of for the last 48 hours. I did not see the weather’s attitude change first hand, since my working hours are spent inside a windowless, flourescently lit office, however I was elated to feel the warm sun on my face when it was quitting time.

Although I have found the past 2-days’ weather to be tedious, I think my plants rather enjoyed it. They are all looking bigger and greener than I left them.

A tomato plant…
A bunch of sprouting Cucumbers…..Don’t you dare wag your finger at me you green thumb extrordinares (sp?) I know you are supposed to plant cukes so many inches apart and in a really big space, but the truth is, I don’t have a big space. I rent a lawn along with my apartment and am not sure how my landlord would feel if I took the kibosh to his lawn….so I put them in a pot. All of them. If they choke each other out…oh well. At least I tried. If I get a few good vines and some tasty cukes….kudos to me. You may follow my methods next year if they prove successful.

And my transplanted Succulant or known to others as Hens and Chicks. I LOVE THEM!
I hope you enjoyed my time in the sun looking at my plants as much as I did.

Anyways, last week B.S. came over to pay me a visit and we went for a lovely stroll through the borough and when we came back I agreed to make us some smoothies. It was a little before dinner time for me so I didn’t want to ruin my appetite by having a HUGE glass of smoothy-liciousness Β like normal, so I ended up having lots left over. I stored the rest in the freezer till today. I am sad to say that my $5 yard sale Osterizer is starting to call it quits on me so I am trying to use it sparingly until I can replace it. Today I got ‘er up and running long enough to liquify the remaining smoothie mix. I decided I would make Popsicles out of them !

My first and last attempt at making healthy yet delicious frozen treats was a flop. I saw this fantastic recipe on Pinterest for a mixed berry, greek yogurt, raw honey concoction for popcicles. Sad to say, they were much too sweet for my liking and didn’t solidify. Not sure if it was the Honey or the Yogurt…so if you saw that recipe and are lured into trying them from the decadent picture posted before the instructions, I caution you to think twice and remember my words. Too sweet. Won’t Freeze up.

So I’ll show you what I did:
I found this GIANT bag of mixed fruit at Wegmans for $10. That is a great buy. Normally a bag of peaches half the size of this bag costs that much and you need to buy pineapple and strawberries in addition. Your healthy snack can turn into quite the expensive snack pretty quickly.
This is the most delicious combo. of fruits ever !
I just fill the blender about 3/4ths full of this fruit , add a tsp of Stevia for sweetness and maybe a half cup of plain greek yogurt. I add milk too but sadly I just kinda eyeball it until I get the right smoothy consistancy I want. Next step: Blend your little hearts out my friend.

You can stop here and slurp the fruity goodness as is and if you’re like me you will have leftovers.
Put them in an icepop mold !

And FREEZE !!!

Not you silly! Freeze the pops ! You may continue reading now.
It’s always a good Idea to have someone stand guard so no one comes along and snatches a pop before it is properly frozen. In my case, I designated the shrimp to do the job for me.

I’ll let you know how they turn out !

Hugs and Stitches,

Sarah

6 responses

  1. You are too funny!!! Let me know how the popsicles turn out!! you might even need to save me one!
    also – whenever i plant cukes by seed, i never weed them out because i can’t stand to pull those precious little plants!!

  2. I know all too well how those multi-day deluges go. Two years ago, we had a three-day rain that resulted in a 500-year flood here in middle TN. Coincidentally, that weekend I was writing a lesson for our upcoming VBS and it was about…you guessed it: Noah. A little ironic, yes. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad your plants took a liking to the rain you got. (As your cukes grow, you can always pluck out the extras – and I would. I won’t wag a finger at you, but you really won’t need that many vines, and they may not do well if they are fighting for space, moisture and nutrients. For one person, a vine or two will probably give you all the cukes you can eat and then some.) Best wishes on your growing!

    Terry

    • Thank you for the cucumber tips. I never knew how many many cukes one or two vines would give me but I trust your knowledge and will follow your advice. (My sister said the same thing!) Like she said, it’s so hard to pluck the little darlings out once you see something you planted start to grow πŸ™‚

    • The pops did turn out good. Only thing is, you can’t really suck on them…it requires more of a bite to eat them. I think if you added juices rather than milk, you may get more of a melty pop. They still are extremely healthy and tasty, perfect for satisfying the summer sweet tooth.

      I love the succulents as well. I’m hoping to get more or a variety of them in the future.

Spill Your Guts